Argyll Marks Midway Point of 2022 Season – Motorsport UK Scottish Rally Championship

20th June 2022

Argyll Marks Midway Point of 2022 Season

The KNC Groundworks Scottish Rally Championship returns to the rally that re-started it all after the global pandemic, the Dunoon Presents Argyll Rally on 24-25th June.

Leading the huge entry of 140 crews, Freddie Milne & Patrick Walsh were top SRC crew one year ago with a drive that made everyone sit up and take notice. 2022 has not been the best year so far for the Fiesta team, hopefully they can bounce back in Argyll.

2nd on the entry list, the big news for championship leader David Bogie is the addition of Cammy Fair in the hotseat. With Jock Armstrong’s Impreza still in surgery after the Jim Clark, Cammy will be sampling WRC power competitively for the 1st time.

David Henderson returns to the SRC after missing the Clark. With Chris Lees back in the hotseat David will be debuting his new Rally 2 Fiesta.

Snowman winners Michael Binnie & Claire Mole are fresh off a podium finish on their home event last time out. They’re seeded just in front of Mark McCulloch & Michael Hendry. The Evo powered Proton flew to 3rd on its 1st tarmac outing and there’s definitely more to come from the car.

Rory Young & Allan Cathers took the fight to Bogie on the Clark before their retirement. They’ll be challenging once again along with John Wink, Barry Groundwater, Scott Macbeth & John Rintoul to name just a few.

Leader Angus Lawrie tops the Albyn Garage Challengers seeding, ahead of team-mate Willie Paterson and returning championship sponsor Kevin Crawford. Snowman winner and current 2nd placed Keir Beaton also returns to the drivers seat in the Impreza for this round.

Peter Stewart & Harry Marchbank are reunited and top the Autoshop 2wd battles. They are followed by John Crawford’s MK2 and 1st Historic and Haddo Energy Super Senior & Escort legend Steve Bannister.

Also in the Senior fight are the Escorts of Gordon Murray, Alistair Brearley and BMW pilot Ernie Lee.

The 5 Star Vehicle Deliveries Subaru Cup will be a 4 way fight between new Points leader Mike Moates, Jordan Anderson, Martin Crombie & Orrin McDonnell.

Five Moates Offshore Junior competitors will take the start. Championship leader Robert Proudlock has had both speed and consistency in his Adam. Nikki Addison & Rachel Matheson have been equally consistent ahead of Meghan O’Kane, the Speyside retirement hurting her championship slightly. Unluckiest in the junior ranks, Justin Gunning has shown great pace but 2 offs in 2 events mean he needs to bounce back with a solid result in Argyll. ¬†Finally, the wildcard for Argyll, Scott Gourlay is making his SRC driving debut in his own 205. He has tarmac experience and could ruin a few people’s days.

Nikki & Meghan are also embroiled in the ladies championship battle. Aileen Forrest’s Evo 9 heads the standings after a star drive performance at the Jim Clark. Meghan took 2nd from Nikki in 3rd. The 4th protagonist in this battle, Ashleigh Morris, took the Snowman win but hasn’t had the luck since. A retirement on the Speyside was followed by 4th on the Clark after a time-consuming puncture.

The 2 day event kicks off once again with 2 runs through the centre of Dunoon on the Friday evening from 7:30pm before the crews tackle 2 stages to the North and West of the town.  Saturday sees 2 loops of 4 stages with only 1 service back at Dunoon stadium.

Current points standings after Round 3 can be viewed/downloaded from the championship website here.

A full entry list and spectator information will be available to view/download from the event website later this week.

As always keep an eye on the SRC facebook page for live coverage from both the stages and regroup/service throughout the 2 day event.