ARR Craib Scottish Rally Championship 2015 Launched – Motorsport UK Scottish Rally Championship

4th January 2015

ARR Craib Scottish Rally Championship 2015 Launched

Organisers of the ARR Craib Scottish Rally Championship have revealed details of the 2015 series, which kicks off in less than 7 weeks with the traditional season opening Arnold Clark Thistle Hotels Snowman rally, based in Inverness.

Championship Calendar

The programme of events for 2015 is similar to 2014. The Aberdeen based Coltel Granite City moves back one week into May. All events will be predominantly gravel and will run on Saturdays, with the exception of the Jim Clark Reivers, which runs on a Sunday.

Date Event Location
21st Feb 2015 Arnold Clark Thistle Hotel Snowman Rally Inverness, Highlands
21st Mar 2015 Border Counties Rally** Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
2nd May 2015 Coltel Communications Granite City Rally Aberdeen, Grampian
31st May 2015 Jim Clark Reivers Rally Kelso, Scottish Borders
27th Jun 2015 RSAC Scottish Rally** Dumfries, Dumfries & Galloway
1st Aug 2015 McDonald & Munro Speyside Stages Elgin, Moray
5th Sep 2015 GWF Energy Merrick Stages Wigtown, South West Scotland
3rd Oct 2015 Colin McRae Forest Stages** Perth, Perth & Kinross

Event Format

As in previous years, some of the championship events will run certain classes at the head of the field and following the results of a competitor survey carried out last season, all 2wd cars will run at the head of the field on the Border Counties, Scottish & McRae rallies. The remaining events will run conventional seeding (in order of anticipated performance).

Class Structure

In addition to the previously announced end to the restriction on the age of eligible WRC cars, there have been a number of changes to the championship classes, and these are summarised below;

  • Modified cars up to 1050cc added to class 1 (Rally First)
  • Expired homologations allowed to compete with currently homolgated cars in Class 10.
  • Top capacity cars split into 3 classes:
    • Class 13 – WRC & R5 cars, and any derivatives of these
    • Class 12 – Gp A cars, S2000 cars & R4 cars. Any Metro 6R4 or derivative. 4wd cars not in class 13 with a sequential gearbox
    • Class 11 – All other 4wd cars, without sequential gearboxes

Dave Robson, Chairman of the ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship commented;

“The changes for 2015 are evolution rather than revolution, and mainly come as a result of feedback from our competitors.

We are sure that the slight alteration to running order will enhance the competition in the Clubman 2wd championship with those cars running together more often. In addition, the revisions to the top capacity classes will give crews more chance of being competitive by placing them alongside similar cars, rather than in one class with up to 30 others. In particular, this should help some of the older 4wd cars continue to fight for honours.

We feel that these changes will ensure that the Scottish Rally Championship remains the place to be in 2015, and we look forward to another great season starting with February’s Snowman Rally in Inverness.”

2015 Championship regulations will be available from the championship website w/c 5th January.