Bogie / Rowan take 2nd Consecutive Hills Victory – Motorsport UK Scottish Rally Championship

16th September 2021

Bogie / Rowan take 2nd Consecutive Hills Victory

The Armstrong Galloway Hills Rally marks the penultimate round of the 2021 KNC Groundworks Scottish Rally Championship and there was a chance that the championship title could be decided.

Not in the title fight but many peoples’ favourite for the rally win, David Bogie & John Rowan duly took their 2nd win of the season. It wasn’t an easy or straightforward 5th win for David though, a wrong setup in the morning saw them losing time to the Fabia of Garry Pearson & Niall Burns. However, once the set-up was sorted they grabbed the lead and won by 29 seconds.

Fastest on stages 1 and 2 Duns driver Garry Pearson & Niall Burns from Donegal were distracted in 3 when the roof scoop flew off the car. That distraction saw them drop 6 seconds to Bogie’s MINI. After that they would set 2nd fastest times on all the remaining stages to take 2nd overall and strengthen their bid for what would be a 1st Scottish title.

With event sponsor and championship leader Jock Armstrong in trouble and top Evo challenger Michael Binnie from Cornhill-on-Tweed retiring, the final podium spot went down to the wire between the Hyundai i20 of Moray crew John Wink & Neil Shanks and the Evo 7 of Alford’s Scott Beattie & former Scottish Champion co-driver Paula Swinscoe from Lancashire. Both gave it their all but it was the Mitsubishi that came out on top by just 5 seconds after a fantastic battle.

Securing the Scottish 2wd title it was another good day out for Mark McCulloch & Michael Hendry. The Mk2 crew were delighted to wrap things up on Mark’s home event.

2nd Scottish 2wd and the Albyn Garage Challengers win went once again to 208 pilot Peter Stewart from Dumfries. With regular co-driver Harry Marchbank rallying abroad he had lined up the ultimate replacement in 5 times Scottish co-driver champion Kevin Rae. Peter & Kevin really enjoying the stages during the day.

There was drama in the Bob Shepherd Juniors category. The Fiesta R2T of the Tyne and Wear crew of Ewan Tindall & Andrew Roughead retired after SS4 and Johnnie Mackay & Emily Easton-Page from Aberdeen arrived at the finish with no clutch and their Fiesta ST stuck in 3rd gear. All this meant the Inverness crew of Jordan Anderson & Clare Mackenzie would take a fantastic win after an excellent run in their Peugeot 306.

Bonar Bridge’s Michael Renton & Elgin co-driver John Shepheard took their 3rd Andrew Wood Motorsport Subaru Cup win. Their day was made easier when Cup rival Mike Moates retired on the final loop. Michael & John enjoying their day out once again and now in prime position to take the Cup title on the final round.

The battle for the overall titles in the 2021 Championship is now a two horse race going into the final round, the Carlisle Stages, between Jock Armstrong/Cameron Fair and Garry Pearson/Niall Burns.

Entries for the final round on the 24th of October will open on Monday 13th September.

All images courtesy of Eddie Kelly Motorsport Photography.