SRC announce Star Driver finalists – Motorsport UK Scottish Rally Championship

12th September 2017

SRC announce Star Driver finalists

ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship reveal nominees for the John Horton Star Driver Award shootout.

Organisers of the ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship are delighted to announce the finalists for the inaugural SRC John Horton Star Driver Award, to be held at Kames Motorsport Centre on 20th September.

The winner of the shoot-out selected by the judging panel will receive an entry to a high-level European event. Entry fee, travel and accommodation costs will be covered and contributions towards fuel and tyres will be also be included courtesy of the championship partners. The prize fund is expected to be worth in the region of £2000.

After last weekend’s final round of the championship, the Armstrong Galloway Hills Rally a total of seven nominations were collated, one from each round of the series.  The judging panel has also announced three wildcard entries who have all been in contention for event nominations, taking the total number of contestants to ten.

The finalists are:

Event Finalist
Snowman Rally Thomas Gray
Border Counties Rally Greg McKnight
Speyside Stages Michael Binnie
RSAC Scottish Rally Mike Stuart
Argyll Rally Alex Pirie
Grampian Forest Rally Angus Lawrie
Galloway Hills Rally Mark McCulloch
Wildcard Duncan MacDonald
Wildcard Simon Hay
Wildcard Keith Riddick

The finalists will assemble at Kames on 20th September to take part in a series of assessments including media, route note making and driving skills.

The panel will consist of:
Former factory Co-Driver & Team Manager and MSA Council Member – Mike Broad (Chairman),
Dayinsure Wales Rally GB Clerk of the Course – Iain Campbell,
Former factory driver & two-times Scottish Rally Champion – Andrew Wood,
Scottish Sun – Deputy Motoring Editor – Jon Doran,
Scottish Rally Championship Media Manager – Matt Cotton.

After the tasks have been completed, the winner of the shootout will be announced after the panel has deliberated their decision at the conclusion of the shootout.

The ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship named this prestigious award after the late John Horton. A name synonymous with UK rallying, John first made his mark on the sport as an international co-driver and competed alongside the likes of Russell Brookes, Billy Coleman and Jimmy McRae in a variety of cars and teams. Perhaps the most famous of these was with GM and the Opel brand in the 1970’s.

In later years he worked as the national press officer for the British Grand Prix and Wales Rally GB at the turn of the century and is sadly missed by the rallying community after he died suddenly last year.

Media are warmly invited to attend the event and are requested to contact:
Matt Cotton – Media Manager
07870 216931
for more information.

More information on the nominees can be found here:

More information on the championship can be found here:

Keep up to date with all the latest news via the websiteFacebook or Twitter using the hashtag #SRC17.

Below: Finalists in action during the year – L- R:
Thomas Gray, Greg McKnight, Michael Binnie, Mike Stuart, Alex Pirie, Angus Lawrie, Mark McCulloch, Keith Riddick, Simon Hay, Duncan MacDonald.
Thomas Gray
Greg McKnight
Michael Binnie
Mike Stuart
Alex Pirie
Angus Lawrie
Mark McCulloch
Keith Riddick
Simon Hay
Duncan MacDonald