The Gravel Rash Returns with Iconic South West Stages – Motorsport UK Scottish Rally Championship

25th June 2022

The Gravel Rash Returns with Iconic South West Stages

The KNC Groundworks Scottish Rally Championship returns to the forests for round 5 of the 2022 season, the RSAC Scottish Rally. Although the entry is relatively small, the quality is there with all the main championship protagonists in attendance.

Topping the entry list, championship leader and record 7 times Scottish winner David Bogie comes into his home rally on the back of a 3 event winning streak. With Irish co-driver John Rowan back alongside, David will be making his Rally 2 debut in McGeechan’s new Fiesta.

Michael Binnie & Claire Mole line up behind the new Ford. The Evo crew are on an incredible run of form in 2022, finishing on the podium on every event so far this year.  Michael currently lies 2nd in the drivers standings while Claire holds a slender 1 point lead in the co-drivers section.

They’re joined in the M7 class by the returning Jock Armstrong. The Impreza pilot has had a difficult season so far and will be looking forward to getting back onto the gravel, while co-driver Cammy Fair is coming off the back of an overall win in Argyll.

Behind the top 3 come the army of Fords. Freddie Milne & Patrick Walsh are looking for a change in fortune after a season of great pace and no luck. David Henderson is a last minute entry in his new Rally 2 Fiesta, fresh from 2nd overall on the Argyll with co-driver Chris Lees. Bruce McCombie & Michael Coutts missed Argyll but were one of the crowds favourites at the recent McRae Rally Challenge despite constant power steering problems.

Mark McCulloch & Michael Hendry will be debuting the Proton with its’ upgraded engine on gravel. The pace on the Clark, Argyll and the McRae very encouraging for the home built special.

John Wink & Hugh Brunton round out the top 9 ahead of the leading Albyn Garage Challengers.

ALM teammates Angus Lawrie & Willie Paterson resuming battle in their Evos once again, chased by championship sponsor Kevin Crawford & Andrew Stevenson.

Peter Stewart & Harry Marchbank top the Autoshop 2wd entries. The 208 R4 has the Historic Escorts of Stuart Egglestone & top Haddo Energy Super Seniors entrant Steve Bannister right behind it on the entry list.

After it’s big off on the Snowman back in March Steven Wood’s unique rear wheel drive 2-litre Fiesta is finally back together, hopefully Steven can rebuild his confidence quickly. The Fiesta has the Mk2s of John Crawford, Paddy Munro & Gordon Murray for company.

Keith & Mairi Riddick line up 2nd in the fwd ranks, just ahead of the 1st crews in the Moates Offshore Juniors.

R2 Fiesta pilot Justin Gunning lines up ahead of championship leader Robert Proudlock. The Adam driver will be making his 1st start on his home event.

Jordan Anderson & new co-driver John Shepheard top the 5 Star Subaru Cup entries, just ahead of championship supporter Mike Moates & Gary McDonald. Both are coming off the back of difficult runs in Argyll, although Mike & Gary did extend their lead in the series.

Cup winners in Argyll, Orrin McDonnell & Eoghan Anderson’s persistence was finally rewarded., and with Orrin reckoning the car should be even stronger on the gravel they could be ones to watch for another victory.

In the ladies contest, 3 of the 4 contestants will be starting the Scottish. Aileen Forrest leads the championship ahead of reigning champion Ashleigh Morris. The Evo and the Fiesta pilots with 2 wins apiece. Meghan O’Kane’s season has been a combination of great pace but poor luck.

The Fiesta driver will be the 1st SRC driver on the road, the Scottish running all the 2 wheel drives at the front of the field in reverse seeding order.

6 stages will make up the event with only 6 miles of double usage. Keep an eye on the SRC facebook page for live coverage of the rally on Saturday the 23rd of July.