The Reivers Return – Motorsport UK Scottish Rally Championship

22nd May 2022

The Reivers Return

After 2 exciting rounds on the gravel in the forests of the north, the KNC Groundworks Scottish Rally Championship moves onto a sealed surface for the next 2 rounds, starting with the Jim Clark Reivers Rally next Sunday, May 29th.

Heading up the field, 5 times champion David Bogie is reunited with regular co-driver John Rowan, free from his WRC commitments for a weekend. With the new Escort still under construction David is out in the McGeehan prepared MINI WRC that’s brought him so much success in the forests and he’s interested to see how the car handles the tarmac.

Michael Binnie, Freddie Milne & Jock Armstrong have all taken the fight to Bogie on the 1st 2 rounds. Taking the Snowman win, Michael & co-driver Claire Mole are determined to do well on their local event and will be match fit by the Sunday having already completed the 2 day rally on the Friday & Saturday.

Freddie Milne & Patrick Walsh showed their tarmac prowess, taking maximum SRC points on the 2021 Argyll Rally. Back in their familiar R5 after a run in a Rally 2 car last time out they will be ones to watch.

Jock Armstrong & Cammy Fair’s return to the old faithful Impreza continues. Having found some suspension amongst the collection of bits he has, who knows how Jock will go. The Reivers does hold some bad memories for him, having been excluded in the past for an issue with the Impreza’s diff….

In the mix with the top SRC seeds, 3 times Scottish champions Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton are out for a run on Euan’s home patch, as well as local man Dale Robertson in a Fiesta R5 with Stuart Loudon alongside, fresh from his run on the WRC Portugal rally.

The rest of the big players from the opening rounds are in attendance. Bruce McCombie & Michael Coutts will be making their tarmac debut in the WRC Focus & Scott Macbeth & Dan Forsyth have already shown tarmac form in the past.

Mark McCulloch & Michael Hendry will begin the tarmac development of the Satria Evo and hopefully continue their Speyside battle with the i20 of John Wink. Fresh from a strong run on the Border Counties John has Neil Shanks back in the hotseat.

Donnie Macdonald returns after missing the Speyside, the Fiesta just ahead of Barry Groundwater’s Impreza WRC. They’ll be chased down by John Rintoul & Ross Hynd. The FCE crew switching to their MINI WRC for the tarmac.

Angus Lawrie & Paul Gribben head up the Albyn Garage Challengers crews, chased by team mates Willie Paterson & Tom Hynd.

Autoshop 2wd winners on the Speyside, Stuart Egglestone & Brian Hodgson top the 2wd entrants in their Historic MK2, chased by fellow Escort legend Steve Bannister with Callum Atkinson alongside. Both will need to watch out for Peter Stewart’s 208 R4, navigated by Dave Robson, and the local Tuer brothers making their 1st SRC appearance in their Clio R3T. French cars on tarmac could be a potent combination.

Justin Gunning & Robert Proudlock have 1 win apiece in the Moates Offshore Junior standings. Both come into this round with new navigators, Keir Beaton steps into the Fiesta while Lewis MacDougall jumps in the Adam’s passenger seat.

Mike Moates & Gary McDonald are the sole 5 Star Vehicle Deliveries Subaru Cup crew while the Haddo Energy Super Seniors will be a 4 way fight between Ernie Lee, Alistair Brearley, Gordon Murray & Jim McDowall.

All 4 protagonists in the Ladies battle are back for the 1st run on the tarmac. Aileen Forrest heads the seeding and the championship battle. Ashleigh Morris, Nikki Addison & Meghan O’Kane will all be chasing the Evo driver down.

A full entry list is available here with further details available on the event website at

Keep an eye on the Scottish Rally Championship Facebook page for live coverage & updates throughout the day.